Election of Chairman, Vice-Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen

Summary

1. The General Assembly is invited to appoint a Chairman, Vice-Chairmen and four Deputy Chairmen for 2008/2009.

Constitution

2. The Constitution (Article 7.4) provides for the General Assembly at its Annual Meeting each year to appoint a Chairman and Vice-Chairmen and, on the nomination of the relevant political groups, Deputy Chairmen, each being a representative of the political groups of members of the General Assembly representing the largest electorates as determined under Article 9.3, provided that their share of the total electorate as so determined is in each case five per cent or more.

3. In respect of the appointment of Deputy Chairmen for 2008/2009, there are four political groups which meet the criteria set out in the Constitution namely the Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat and Independent Groups who each have more than five per cent of the total electorate. The Assembly has previously agreed that, where the positions of Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the LGA are held by the two largest groups, the leader of the third largest group should be recognised as taking precedence over the other Deputy Chairmen.

4. In the event of any of the above positions being the subject of a vote at the General Assembly, full members may exercise their vote in accordance with Article 6.1 of the Constitution. Each corporate member authority (Welsh corporate members, Fire, Police and Passenger Transport Authorities and Association of National Parks Authorities) shall have one vote (Article 6.2(a)).

Contact Officer: Cathy Boyle (cathy.boyle@lga.gov.uk) (020 7664 3205)